Continuous Learning Continues in San Diego

By Corey Newman

PPA's February 2020 continuous learning programming class just wrapped up in San Diego, California, showcasing another successful professional development gathering of the Leadership Academy, Institute for Facilities Management, and Supervisor's Toolkit. Colleagues from around the globe were welcomed to learn, network, and collaborate.

We are very grateful for the dedicated faculty who make these offerings such a success. A special note of thanks goes to our Institute Deans: Mary Vosevich, Chris Smeds, Lynne Finn, and Don Guckert; our Academy faculty: Glenn Smith, Paula Farnsworth, Shawna Code, Viron Lynch, and Matt Adams; and our Supervisor's Toolkit facilitator: David Patten.

At this event, we also offered a new session called Leading Your Facilities Organization Through an Age of Transformational Change as well as a new offering, Practical Implementation of APPA 1000 – Total Cost of Ownership - Parts 1 & 2.

Throughout the week, students had opportunities to interact with experts who brought their knowledge and experience from diverse backgrounds, providing a rich environment for all attendees. Approximately 600 facilities professionals attended. As the week drew to a close, we celebrated with graduation ceremonies for the class of February 2020.

A big kudos goes to all those institutional leaders who supported the professional development of their staff! The professional development of any individual must be as customizable as the individuals themselves, and APPA is here to help everyone achieve their personal, organizational, and institutional goals. Please visit www.appa.org for more information on all of APPA's program offerings. 🕥

Corey Newman is APPA's associate director of professional development and can be reached at corey@ appa.org.



Institute Graduates



ACADEMY GRADUATES

In alphabetical order; not all graduates are pictured

- Bob Askerlund, Salt Lake Community College John Blankemeyer, University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia
- Timothy Brancao, Monroe Community College Luis Carranza, San Mateo County Community College District

Derek Crouse, University of Kentucky

- John Cuevas, San Mateo County Community College District
- Jolene Deinert, *University of Nebraska Lincoln* Kimberly Dyer, *Texas Christian University*

Christopher Eichorst, Whitworth University

Angela Gaines, Southern University Law Center

David Garcia, Rice University

Doug Gilpin, University of Texas Austin

- Robert Guttierrez, San Mateo County Community College District
- John Hopkins, *Whitman University* Stephen Luyendyk, *Grant Macewan University* Guiseppe Marzullo, *Montclair State University* Glen Mathieu, *University of Connecticut* Gerry McGillian, *Columbia University*
- Joseph McGurn, Franciscan University of Steubenville

Chris Miller, Clemson University

- Antonio Moore, University of North Carolina Greensboro
- Heather Neufeld, University of Saskatchewan Christopher O'Grady, University of Saskatchewan Drew Petrie, Okanagan College Kristin Poldemann, The Ohio State University Steve Robinson, Okanagan College

Preya Sanasie, Montclair State University Lorraine Silva, New Mexico State University Justin Smith, Abilene Christian University Courtney Sprague, Monroe Community College Doug Tammen, University of Virginia

INSTITUTE GRADUATES

In alphabetical order; not all graduates are pictured

- Gilbert Acosta, University of Texas Austin Scott Allen, The Morton Arboretum Jacqueline Alvarez, Montclair State University Matt Bromander, Calvary Lutheran Church Timothy Brunner, Kansas State University Jackie Bucheck, Florida State University TallChief Comet, Humboldt State University David Cooper, North Dakota State College of Science
- Todd Cross, Oregon State University Kyle Daniel, University of West Georgia Randy Davis, Humboldt State University Carlos Doolittle, Southeastern Louisiana University
- Dennis Drymala, University of Maryland Baltimore

Bradley Fuller, Kellog Community College Jeffrey K. Gaither, Wake Forest University Michael Gieger, University of Colorado Denver Anschutz Medical Campus Matt Ginn, Saint Mary's College of California Adam Gragg, University of Virginia Kathy Grant, Indiana University Bloomington

Matthew Gulbicki, Jefferson University James Hackman, University of Iowa Jeff Harney, University of Iowa Jennifer Hayward, Lane Community College Paul F. Heliseva, Cornell University James Joyner, University of Virginia Sean J. Kenny, University of Guelph David King, Western Carolina University Mike L. Kirkpatrick, University of Arizona James Lang, University of Vermont Robert Luce, University of Cincinnati Mark Lutkenhoff, Michigan State University Derk Mahoney, University of British Columbia Okanagan

Michael McCord, University of New Mexico

Yevgeny Mironenko, University of Arizona Cary Morris, Portland State University Earl Morris, University of Kentucky Luke L. Muirhead, University of Saskatchewan Jason Murphy, University of Kentucky David J. Mutscheller, Virginia Theological Seminary

Ravish Paul, University of Florida Trisha Pugh, University of Northern Iowa Richard Reardon, State University of NY at Buffalo

- Craig Roncace, University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia
- Craig Roose, Central College Katie Rossmann, University of Iowa Michael Roth, Penn State Harrisburg Christopher Sawicki, University of Regina Kevin Schindlebeck, The Ohio State University Nick Schmidt, Western Michigan University
- Darrell Schreiber, North Dakota State College of Science
- Ashley Sisco, University of North Carolina Charlotte

April Skurka, John Carroll University Bryan D. Smith, University of Cincinnati Sid Stone, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Marvin Sutton, Davidson College Kathleen Szweda, University of Rochester Jay Taylor, Indiana University Bloomington Roberta Tincher, University of Kentucky Wesley E. Todd, Wake Forest University Aaron W. Voyles, University of Texas Austin Jennifer Watson, University of Virginia Gary Weishaar, Kansas State University William Wilcox, Cornell University Mike L. Wilkinson, Dalhousie University Brenda M. Wunder, Middle Tennessee State University